News Subscribe via RSS


Performing Chemistry in Floating Droplets

Emily Velasco
Could chemists be ready to ditch the venerable test tube?
A hand places a pellet into a 3D-printed ultrasonic levitator.

Bronner Named Director of Beckman Institute

Lori Dajose
Marianne Bronner will succeed Dennis Dougherty as the director of Caltech's Beckman Institute.
Marianne Bronner

Order from Chaos

The more Caltech biochemist Shu-ou Shan learns about how proteins are made, the more she marvels that life exists at all. The professor of chemistry and her team focus on the first few moments of a protein’s life, and what they have found is that protein biogenesis is anything but simple.
Shou-ou Shan

Dennis Dougherty Selected As Next Chair of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Emily Velasco
Dennis Dougherty, Caltech's George Grant Hoag Professor of Chemistry and director of the Beckman Institute, is succeeding Jacqueline Barton as chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Dennis Dougherty

First Line of Defense

From The Caltech Effect: “Antibiotics are a pillar of civilization,” says Caltech's Rustem Ismagilov. “But humanity completely misuses them.” Four members of Ismagilov’s laboratory explain how their research could help solve the problem.
Ismagilov lab members

Dexter A. Bailey, Jr., Appointed Vice President for Advancement and Alumni Relations

A nationally recognized leader, Bailey brings more than two decades of development experience to the campus.
Dexter A. Bailey, Jr.

Caltech Celebrates the Class of 2019

Judy Hill
Caltech celebrated its 125th annual commencement on Friday, June 14, 2019.
Caltech commencement

Students Receive 2019 Awards

Emily Velasco
Outstanding students from many disciplines have been presented with awards for their achievements.
A portrait of several students who won the 2019 Robert L. Noland Leadership Award

Kimberly See Wins Beckman Young Investigator Award

Emily Velasco
Kimberly See, an assistant professor of chemistry, has won a 2019 Beckman Young Investigator Award.
Kimberly See

Tirrell Elected to American Philosophical Society

Lori Dajose
The Society honors extraordinary accomplishments in a variety of academic disciplines
David Tirrell